RACI Chemistry Educator of the Year Award

This award is designed to encourage developing teachers, and is open to tutors, lecturers and senior lecturers (academic levels A, B and C) teaching in undergraduate or postgraduate University courses.

The winner will be required to submit an article for publication in the RACI journal “Chemistry in Australia” on his/her contribution to chemistry teaching.

Hear from our 2021 recipient


The candidate my apply or be nominated.  Applications open in April and close mid June. The applicant is required to be a current RACI member for a minimum of 3 years and currently employed within an Australian University.

The application should include:

  • A current CV.
  • A statement of your overall approach to teaching and learning plus information and examples from your practice that illustrate and support your approach.
  • Email and telephone contacts of no more than four referees.

After the closing date, no further applications/nominations for the award will be accepted.  If in the opinion of the Board there is no candidate who has sufficient merit, the Board may refrain from making an award.

The decision of the judges will be subject to the approval of the RACI Board. The Board decision is final and no discussions or correspondence will be entered into.


Reyne Pullen
Madeleine Schultz
Elizabeth Yuriev
Chris Thompson
Erica J. Smith
Dr Elizabeth New
Dr Natalie Williamson


For detailed award criteria click below

Learn More




Reyne Pullen


Read more about Reyne Pullen