Electrochemistry Division

The EDRACI is the premier organisation for electrochemical scientists, engineers and technologists in Australasia. Our mission is to advance the study, research and application of electrochemical science and technology, to disseminate electrochemical knowledge, and to promote the cooperation of Australian electrochemists with the world.


Our purpose


Our Electrochemistry Division was created to:

  • organise meetings/symposia, postgraduate student schools and local workshops
  • sponsor awards to recognise achievement in electrochemistry in Australia and internationally
  • disseminate information of interest to electrochemists via the RACI website and emailing members in order to provide rapid announcements to the electrochemical community
  • develop activities that promote electrochemistry.


The Division has a Chair, Secretary and Treasurer, who are part of the elected committee that also includes representatives for each state and New Zealand. Academic, industry and government members lead innovative research programs in key areas of electrochemical science spanning energy, environment and health sectors.

The EDRACI strives to build an inclusive culture that respects, supports and celebrates the unique backgrounds and achievements of all our members.


Regular Events 


Our Electrochemistry Division is very active in holding regular events. Highlights include:

  • A biennial conference, “Australasian Electrochemistry Symposium (AES)” which is the premier electrochemistry conference in Australia and New Zealand. Academic research and innovations in the commercial sector are presented.
  • A biennial "ISE Student Symposium on Electrochemistry" run in conjunction with the AES, where postgraduate students and early career chemists showcase their work, gain experience from scientific presentations and network with their peers.

Divisional Awards


We present a range of awards to recognise the contribution of our members. Highlights include:

Expand AllCollapse All



Our Committee

Meet our Committee here

Our Resources

see our Resources here


Become involved


If you would like more information on our Electrochemistry Division or how to become involved please contact us

 Contact us

Bruno Breyer Medal Award



Prof Shelley Minteer 

We are very happy to announce that Prof Shelley Minteer from the University of Utah has been awarded the prestigious Bruno Breyer medal from the Electrochemistry Division of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. The Breyer Medal is the highest award made by the Australasian electrochemistry community. The Breyer Medal and Lecture commemorates Dr Bruno Breyer (1900-1967) who was born in Czechoslavakia, educated in Germany, and later became a pioneer of AC polarography in Australia. The medal is awarded for internationally recognized contributions in the field of electrochemistry.
Dr. Shelley Minteer is a USTAR Professor and the Dale and Susan Poulter Endowed Chair of Biological Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Utah, as well as the current Associate Chair of the Department. She received her PhD in Analytical Chemistry at the University of Iowa in 2000 under the direction of Professor Johna Leddy. After receiving her PhD, she spent 11 years as a faculty in the Department of Chemistry at Saint Louis University before moving to the University of Utah in 2011. She was a Technical Editor for the Journal of the Electrochemical Society (2013-2016) and also an Associate Editor for the Journal of the American Chemical Society (2016-2020) before becoming the inaugural Editori-in-Chief of the ACS Au Journals. She has published greater than 400 publications and greater than 500 presentations at national and international conferences and universities. She has won several awards including the Luigi Galvani Prize of the Bioelectrochemical Society, International Society of Electrochemistry Tajima Prize and Bioelectrochemistry Prize, Grahame Award of the Electrochemical Society, Fellow of the Electrochemical Society and the International Society of Electrochemistry, American Chemical Society Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Electrochemistry, and the Society of Electroanalytical Chemists' Young Investigator Award and Reilley Award. Her research interests are focused on electrocatalysis and bioanalytical electrochemistry. She has expertise in biosensors, biofuel cells, electrosynthesis, and bioelectronics.