Electrochemistry Division

The EDRACI is the premier organisation for electrochemical scientists, engineers and technologists in Australasia. Our mission is to advance the study, research and application of electrochemical science and technology, to disseminate electrochemical knowledge, and to promote the cooperation of Australian electrochemists with the world.


Our Purpose


Our Electrochemistry Division was created to:

  • organise meetings/symposia, postgraduate student schools and local workshops
  • sponsor awards to recognise achievement in electrochemistry in Australia and internationally
  • disseminate information of interest to electrochemists via the RACI website and emailing members in order to provide rapid announcements to the electrochemical community
  • develop activities that promote electrochemistry.


The Division has a Chair, Secretary and Treasurer, who are part of the elected committee that also includes representatives for each state and New Zealand. Academic, industry and government members lead innovative research programs in key areas of electrochemical science spanning energy, environment and health sectors.

The EDRACI strives to build an inclusive culture that respects, supports and celebrates the unique backgrounds and achievements of all our members.


Regular Events 


Our Electrochemistry Division is very active in holding regular events. Highlights include:

  • A biennial conference, “Australasian Electrochemistry Symposium (AES)” which is the premier electrochemistry conference in Australia and New Zealand. Academic research and innovations in the commercial sector are presented.
  • A biennial "ISE Student Symposium on Electrochemistry" run in conjunction with the AES, where postgraduate students and early career chemists showcase their work, gain experience from scientific presentations and network with their peers.

Division Awards


We present a range of awards to recognise the contribution of our members. Highlights include:

Expand AllCollapse All



More information on this year's award recipients can be found here.

Our Committee

Meet our Committee here

Our Resources

see our Resources here


Become Involved


If you would like more information on our Electrochemistry Division or how to become involved please contact us

 Contact us

Chemistry in Australia Magazine

You will have online access to 4 quarterly issues of Chemistry in Australia, the RACI’s member magazine, per year.

Learn More

R.H. Stokes Medal


Prof Chuan Zhao

Alan M. Bond Medal 


Dr Cameron Bentley

Bruno Breyer Medal


Prof Shelley Minteer