Cornforth Medal

The medal, bearing the words "For a Thesis on Chemical Research", is designed to give recognition of outstanding achievement in chemistry and to promote chemical communication.

The Board of the RACI awards the Cornforth Medal in honour of the work of Sir John Cornforth AC CBE FRS – an Australian-British chemist who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1975.

The medal is awarded to the candidate who is judged to have completed the most outstanding PhD thesis in a branch of chemistry, chemical science or chemical technology under the auspices of an Australian University; and whose degree has been approved, but not necessarily conferred, in the previous 13 months.

The award requires nomination by the deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) of an Australian University or person holding the equivalent office at the University. The nominated candidate is required to be a current member for a minimum of one year.

There is only one medal awarded each year, and if the committee considers that none of the theses submitted reach an appropriate standard, no award will be made.


Nominations open 1 April 2021  and close 11 June 2021. The nomination document requirement is a current CV, a summary/synopsis of research papers and four referee email and telephone contacts.
The submission should include a copy of the PhD thesis, a citation describing the significance of the work, examiners’ reports if available and a justification of the nomination.

Please email submission to for the attention of Robyn Taylor no later than 13 June 2021.  Receipt will be acknowledged by return email.

Click here to download award criteria.

If in the opinion of the Board there is no candidate who has sufficient merit, the Board may refrain from making an award.

The decision of the judges will be subject to the approval of the RACI Board. The Board decision is final and no discussions or correspondence will be entered into.


Eddie Vincent Zwicker
Emma Watson
Andrew Giltrap
Amandeep Kaur
Carol Hua
Lara Malins
      Ganna Gryn’ova
      David Hvasanov
      Junming Ho
      Mohammad Choucair
      Ying D Dong (Ms)



Eddie Vincent Zwicker