Postgraduate Student Travel Bursaries

The RACI offers annual travel bursaries to assist postgraduate student members of the Institute to travel professionally from their home institution. Due to COVID-19 there will be no travel this year so the RACI have decided to cancel the Travel Bursary until further notice. However please watch this space for an alternative Post Graduate Student involvement.

The RACI introduced the Graduate Student Travel Bursary to assist (PhD) Post Graduate Student members of the Institute to travel professionally from their home institution.

The award consists of a certificate and an amount of $2,000 to assist the student to collaborate with a research group, at, another Australian university, or overseas, or, to make use of specialised research facilities (e.g. an advanced light source), or, to deliver a paper at a meeting overseas. The bursary WILL NOT be granted for travel to an Australian based conference or workshop. Proof of attendance at the overseas conference or research facility must be provided on return. On completion of the travel - the RACI would like each successful applicant to, produce a short article for the RACI website, and, make themselves available to speak about their experience to science/chemistry students at a RACI Affiliate Member school in their state.


Candidates may apply or be nominated and are required to be (PhD) Post Graduate Student members of the RACI for a minimum of 12 months and enrolled at an Australian University in a Chemistry related higher degree.

Please provide:-

  • A CV highlighting degrees, awards and any relevant publications and include a short description of the purpose of the travel and expected outcomes.
  • Any other activities or contributions to the RACI.
  • Name email and telephone contact information of academic advisor and second referee.
  • Written evidence of an invitation to collaborate at another institution or written acceptance of the paper to be delivered at an overseas meeting together with a budget accounting for the requested bursary. Confirmation that the award will be applicable for travel after 1 July each year, and if travel is already booked, that it has been paid by the student without later reimbursement by an Institution.

Please email in a single PDF document to for the attention of Robyn Taylor. Receipt will be acknowledged by return email and Bursary winners will be notified by 30 June each year.

After the closing date, no further applications/nominations for the award will be accepted. If in the opinion of the Board there is no candidate who has sufficient merit, the Board may refrain from making an award.

The decision of the judges will be subject to the approval of the RACI Board. The Board decision is final and no discussions or correspondence will be entered into.


Zheng Xu (Emma), Ashish Sharma, Debora Monego, Stephanie Allison, Jennifer Baker
Ayana Bhaskaran, Cristobal Quintana, Farhan Cecil, Gemma Gransbury, Katrina Zenere, Max Worthington
Adam Sutton, Bodhi Hardinge, Buddhika Dorakumbura, Christopher Desire, Dylan Innes, Edward Ledingham, Edwin Clatworthy, Hanna J King, Jacob Whittaker, Jennifer Baker, Kathryn Leslie, Lewis Chambers, Nicole McKenzie, Rita Roshni, Salina May, Tim Zerk
D Innes, E Watson, J Collins, K Van der Pal, M Haghighatbin, P Mujumdar, T Telfer
A Zavras, S Lam, M Cook, D Pasin, J Pandohee, J Da Rocha